skip to content

College Closed Memorial Day Weekend - John Tyler Community College will be closed May 23 – 25 for Memorial Day Weekend. Students may continue to register for summer classes by logging into myTyler and using the Student Information System or Navigate. The college continues to respond to the COVID-19 pandemic. To learn more about this response and how we are supporting our students, go to Read more about this announcement.


It looks like you're using an older version of Internet Explorer. For the best experience with, you’ll need to update your browser to the latest version.

College Board

The College Board serves as an advisory group to the College's administration. The Board is made up individuals representing the College’s service area, which includes the cities of Colonial Heights, Hopewell and Petersburg, as well as the counties of Amelia, Charles City, Chesterfield, Dinwiddie, Prince George, Surry and Sussex.

Each jurisdiction has one member, with the exception of Petersburg, which has two members; Hopewell, which has three representatives; and Chesterfield, which also has three members. Board members are appointed by boards of supervisors and city councils from the College’s service area.

Board members serve as advocates for the College in their individual jurisdictions and facilitate communication between the College and its constituencies in those jurisdictions. Board members also advocate for the College during the General Assembly of Virginia legislative session.

Board members may serve two consecutive four-year terms. The chair and vice chair of the Board are elected for two-year terms of office. The Board meets six times annually and rotates meeting locations between the College’s two campuses.

The 2019-2020 Board Roster is as follows:

Officers of the Board
Mr. William A. Barnes, Jr., Chair
Ms. Tammie Collins, Vice Chair
Dr. Edward "Ted" Raspiller, Secretary

Amelia County
Ms. Lorie Southall

Charles City County
Ms. Michelle Johnson

Chesterfield County
Mr. Aubrey Lindsey
Dr. Joseph Tylus
Ms. Christine Wilson

City of Colonial Heights
Mr. Douglas Smith

Dinwiddie County
Ms. Tammie Collins

City of Hopewell
Mr. N. Greg Cuffey
Ms. Ann Y. Williams
Ms. Linda Hyslop

City of Petersburg
Mr. Kenneth Pritchett
Ms. Zelda D. Tucker-Dugger

Prince George County
Mr. William A. Barnes, Jr.

Surry County
Ms.Linda Gholston

Sussex County
Dr. Mary W. Wilson


myTyler Login

Need help with myTyler?